Skip to main content
Our vision is for all communities to effectively use hydrologic information and warnings to protect lives, property, and the environment.

Our mission is to provide education, training, and standards for the generation, delivery, and use of timely reliable hydrologic information."
Home2017 NHWC Award Winners

National Hydrologic Warning Council

2017 Awards Program


Nomination Submittal Instructions

Nomination Deadline: May 5, 2017


About the NHWC Awards


The mission of the National Hydrologic Warning Council (NHWC) is to promote the acquisition, dissemination and utilization of hydrologic and meteorological data in real-time for the protection of lives, property, infrastructure and resources, and to support the subsequent uses of the data to improve knowledge and management of the environment.


In 2007, NHWC initiated an awards program to highlight exceptional work and innovation in the field of hydrologic warning.  The sixth biennial awards were presented at the final banquet of the 12th NHWC Conference & Exposition in Squaw Valley, California on June 8, 2017.


Award Categories


Outstanding Service Award – Awarded to an individual whose work has exceptionally benefited an individual organization and/or the hydrologic warning profession.

Winner:  Rob Hartman, National Weather Service (ret.)

Winner:  Susan Janek, City of Austin, Texas


Operational Excellence Award – Awarded to an organization that has developed and/or maintained an exceptional hydrologic warning system.

Winner:  Ventura County Watershed Protection District, California.

Hydrologic Warning Innovation Award – Awarded to an individual or organization that has developed an innovative product or program improvement that has exceptionally benefited the hydrologic warning profession.

Winner:  Jim Moffitt, Twitter


Outstanding NHWC Transmission Article Award– Awarded to an individual who prepared an outstanding article for publication in NHWC Transmission during 2015-17.

Winners:  Jessica Cherry, Scott Lindsey, and Crane Johnson

Appreciation Awards were presented to the following individuals and organization:

Chris Crompton, For service in many roles from 1991 to 2017

Steve Fitzgerald, For service as President of NHWC from 2015 to 2017

Campbell Scientific, Inc. for over 20 years of support of NHWC from 1995 to 2017

OTT Hydromet / Sutron, for over 20 years of support of NHWC from 1995 to 2017

Others were recognized for their leadership in this years' conference, including:

David Curtis, Conference Program/Agenda
Tom Ogden, Golf Event
Jean Vieux, Conference Exhibitors/Sponsors
Alan Haynes, Conference Tuesday Tours
Sue Swenor, Conference Food
April Krieg, Conference Registration
Brad Heilwagen, Conference Hospitality Suite


      LinkedIn logo
Registration is open for our 2019 NHWC Training Conference & Exposition.
June 17-20, 2019
Louisville, Kentucky
Click Here Now!

This webpage is sponsored by:

To advertise on this page or in the NHWC Transmission newsletter, click 
NHWC Advertising and follow the instructions.